Saturday, August 15, 2009

Sonic Boom

Two words: they're back. It's been three years since Sonic Youth's last studio album, Rather Ripped, and since then they've been busy, busy, busy. But now they're back, with a new label, a new member, and a new album. Sonic Youth's The Eternal debuted in June 2009, and features a new member to the group, Mark Ibold (bass). The other four founders are still there and going strong, Thurston Moore (guitar and vocals), Kim Gordon (guitar, bass and vocals), Lee Ranaldo (guitar and vocals) and Steve Shelley (drums).

After a nine album history with Geffen since 1990's Goo, Sonic Youth has decided to release The Eternal on a fresh new label, Matador Records. The new album includes 12 new tracks and continues with the SY tradition of pounding bass, distorted guitars, and tight drums. If you haven't heard the new record yet, I suggest picking it up. I haven't listened to it enough yet to give you any key tracks I love more than the rest, but I will say this record is something to get excited about. The Eternal, Sonic Youth's answer the the year 2009. Check it out.

Sounds Like: Pixies, The Breeders

Popular Posts